It’s a different world

It’s often during the Friday men’s Bible Study that I think, “What am I doing here?”  Joseph, Jesse, Cornelius and I couldn’t be more different.

Joseph is older, lives with his brother, and seems to kind of be in his own little world.  Jesse is middle-aged, quiet, struggles physically after a series of medical problems, but has a hunger for the Word of God.  Cornelius is a 19 year old Jehovah’s Witness who, against the objections of his family, continues to come to our Bible Study.  He’s had a rough year, in and out of trouble, and has had some mental illness issues as well.   Oh, and a new member of the Bible Study, Gary, will be joining us soon.  He was recently released from jail and must wear a monitor at all times and can only leave his home for work.  So he has to get permission from his probation officer to be able to attend the Bible Study.  She should be calling me today sometime to work out the details.

So somehow the four (soon to be five) of us are coming together every week to read the Bible and see how it applies to our lives.  And they look to me for insight, advice, prayers, and counsel.  It’s a bit overwhelming, to be honest.  I’m glad I have the Holy Spirit to guide me, that’s for sure.  But it’s also extremely exciting.  I can’t wait to see the adventures God has planned for me and those guys this year.  

Leave a Reply

