Our Clothes

The Bible verse I’m teaching the kids this week is from Colossians 3:12 – “So put on tender mercy and kindness as if they were your clothes.”  That’s the New International Readers Version.  (I use NIrV with the kids alot because it’s really easy for them to understand.  It’s really easy for me to understand, too.)

That verse is pretty significant and hard to follow for my kids, as they live in a world where mercy is basically non-existent and kindness is shown only to friends and family, not strangers or, heaven forbid, your enemies.  But as I’ve set with that verse and meditated on that passage of scripture, I realize how hard it is for me to put on tender mercy and kindness like clothes.  We notice someone’s clothes pretty much right off the bat.  Can someone see mercy and kindness on me right away as well?  Probably not. 

And seeing so many parents time and again treat their children wrongly, spend what little money they have unwisely, abuse their bodies over and over, etc., mercy and kindness are often the last things I want to show them.  But I must.  It’s what Jesus did.  It’s what Paul, through the scriptures, tells us to do.  But sometime, my merciful clothing is buried in the bottom of my closet.  Lord, help me find it.

 

Leave a Reply

