Tough times

It’s been a tough week in the world of Mission 2540.   I’ve got a great group of 8th grade girls who I’ve ministered to over the last several years.  I’ve watch them grow up physically, mentally and spiritually.  One of their great friends, who participates in our Bible Studies occasionally, give birth to a baby back in May.  Her little boy was born several months early (as is often the case with such a young mother) and experienced lots of difficulties.  After 6 months of struggle in NICU, he passed away on Sunday morning.

I spent some time with her and  her friends this week talking and doing my best to comfort and minster (what can you say, really, about losing a child?) Today was the funeral.  I watched as my girls surrounded their friend and comforted her as best they knew how.  Watching, I thought of what I was doing at 14, what my friends were doing, what these girls should be doing.  One thing on that list was grieving the loss of a baby.  A 14 year old is not equipped to be a mother, let alone a grieving one.   It was one of the most heartwrenching things I’ve ever had to experience.

Life just blows sometimes.   It’s full of more questions than answers.  But I do know and cling to the simple fact that God is in control and He knows the answers.  That sweet baby boy is healed, breathing on his own without the aide of oxygen tubes and all the other machines hooked to his body.  But meanwhile, her on earth, a young mother grieves.  Please pray for her and her family.  Pray we can show her how to rest and grieve in the loving arms of her Heavenly Father.

One comment

  1. Joshua Heavin · · Reply

    “The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” Psalm 34:18

    I’ll be in agreement for her and all of ya’ll-

Leave a Reply

