This week at NGV

It’s been a busy week, so I haven’t posted anything. That’s the way it goes during the summer.  We’ve started our Back-to-School sign-ups (if you’re interested in helping us provid backpacks and supplies for around 125 kids, please let me know).  We’re planning our golf scramble fund-raiser for August 21 (if you want to know more about that let me know).  We’re doing a free sports camp in conjunction with Paramount Baptist next week.  And I’m leaving for Angel Tree Camp in two weeks, where I’ll be doing a little speaking plus supervising a cabin full of 8 year old boys.  So I’ve got a few things on my plate.

Anyhow, we’ve had a youth group from New Hope First Baptist Church in Cedar Park, TX coming out to the North Grand Villas all week for a couple of hours.  They played a lot of water games to beat the heat, taught bible stories, did crafts, and loved on a bunch of kids. 

One of their adult sponsors is fluent in Spanish, and we were able to communicate with a strictly Spanish-speaking family new to the Villas that is going through some seriously tough stuff.  The folks at New Hope filled up the families completely empty pantry with nearly $200 worth of groceries yesterday afternoon.  It was a huge blessing for the family, and I think affected the New Hope guys just as much.  It was lots of fun for me to watch.

I’d have pictures, but I’m having trouble getting the pictures to load from my phone.  So trust me that we had fun, and I’ll try to upload some pictures when I’m able.

Leave a Reply

