“I feel safe talking to you.”

Somedays, I never really know what I’m going to encounter. On Tuesday, we held our boys Bible study at NGV. While we were playing around, a fifth grade boy who is friends with one of the guys showed up. He doesn’t live at the apartments, but I’ve met him and spent some time with him, as he’s friends with many of the 5th graders I know. As a result of those friendships he started riding out to church with us most Wednesday nights.

He showed up Tuesday and said, “Brooks, can we talk? I feel safe talking with you.” We proceeded to have one of those conversations I kind of dread – the kind involving family problems that 11 year old boys should never have to go through.

I hate hearing the things I have to hear sometimes, but I’m grateful we can be that safe place for kids who have nowhere to turn and wonder if God is actually there, if he actually cares for them. It’s days and conversations like on Tuesday that reminds me why Mission 2540 is around and that we’re doing just what we were called to do.

Leave a Reply

