Thoughts on Good Friday.

This world is broken. 

That was my thought the other evening.  A seventh grade girl sat in the passenger side of my vehicle.   Her mother stood at her side as they both wept over the storms of life.

It’s a familiar story that I’m far too used to hearing, but still hurts everytime I hear it.  After a couple of years, dad finally got out of prison back in January.  He’s moved in with a girlfriend with whom he has several other kids.  He doesn’t have much time for his 7th grader.  And the girlfriend yells at her most of the time she’s over there.  This sweet girl, who thought her new relationship with him was going to be wonderful, is crushed.

“You don’t deserve a dad like that,” I told her.  “You don’t deserve it.  Believe that.  Do you believe that?”  She nodded through her tears.

Last week, a mom texted me and asked me what to do because she thinks her son hates her.

A few weeks ago I had to have a talk with an 8th grader to tell him his anger and lack of respect for authorities was going to send him to jail very soon.  I told him not all men were out to hurt him.  This is hard for him to understand due to the fact that his mom’s boyfriend killed her.  We talked through some stuff and made progress.  But he’s still struggling.  Why wouldn’t he?

Two weeks ago a 12 year old girl told me she was cutting herself.

I recently discovered that the girlfriend of a 16 year old boy I know asked him to get her pregnant. 

A 18 year old single mother who is pregnant again called me last week, told me she was depressed, couldn’t sleep, and was thinking about ending it all.   My wife and I talked to her for a while.  Talked her through things, got her in touch with some others who can help. 

I took a brother and sister home this week to a tiny, run-down efficiency apartment where their grandfather and aunt are taking turns watching them after their mom was recently arrested.

Just a few stories I deal with.  Just a few of the stories that have taken place in the last 2 weeks.  Not over the last year.  The last 2 weeks. 

This world is broken. 

But Jesus makes it new.

Isaiah 53:5-6 – But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed. We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to his own way; and the LORD has laid on him the iniquity of us all.

I’m thankful for this day, Good Friday.  I’m thankful that the one who is Good took all that is bad onto his body.  The sin of fathers who abandon their children.  The sin of abuse.  The sin of unwed pregnancy.  The pain of abandonment.  My sin.  Your sin.  He took it all. 

And by his wounds, this world is healed.  And is being healed.  In the midst of all the brokeness and sorrow and anger I see each day, this gives me great hope.  And great peace.  And great joy in the middle of so much hurt.

Every day I see all the bad that the world has to offer.  But I know the One who is Good.  All the time.   

Thank you, Jesus.

Leave a Reply

